Рус Каз Eng

Zhambyl region

Taraz
 

Kazakhstan’s Economy

In the early 1990s, immediately after the collapse of the Soviet Union, the establishment of a market economy began in Kazakhstan. Companies, deposits and parts of the infrastructure were privatized. In 1993, the country abolished the Soviet Ruble and introduced its own currency, the Tenge. Kazakhstan managed to build an effective banking system from literally nothing although the country had never before had experience of banking traditions. This sector is now reformed and is developing well. Ferrous and non-ferrous metallurgy, chemical, light and heavy industry, machine building, oil refining and food technology are the leading spheres in the economy of Kazakhstan. The Republic possesses large reserves of explored non-ferrous and ferrous metals, coal and lignite, oil and gas, phosphorites, common salt and asbestos. 

Natural resources 

The main resources of Kazakhstan’s earth are ferrous and non-ferrous metals including copper, zinc, lead, nickel, tungsten, molybdenum, ferrous and magnesium ores and chromites. The Republic also possesses vast reserves of coal and lignite, oil and gas, phosphorites, common salt and asbestos. In total, Kazakhstan’s land contains over 90 kinds of natural resources as almost all of the elements in the Period Table can be found in the Republic. From an ecological point of view, it is important that most natural resources are situated close to the surface which is why they can be developed using inexpensive open pits. The largest variety of natural resources can be found in the Rudniy Altai, Karatau mountains, Mugodzhary, Turgai valley and the Mangistau peninsula. The confirmed gas reserves in Kazakhstan as of the beginning of 2009, reached 1.82 trillion cubic metres (BP estimate) which is 1.7% of the world reserves. The Republic also ranks second in the world regarding its explored reserves of uranium deposits which total 1.69 million tonnes. 

Industry 

Ferrous and non-ferrous metallurgy, chemical, light and heavy industries, machine building, oil refining and food technology are the leading spheres of the economy of Kazakhstan. Oil refining and construction material production have also been developed in the country. Coal, oil, natural gas, iron ore, copper ore, lead and zinc ore, uranium ore, nickel ore, bauxites and other natural resources are also actively extracted in the country. Export of metallurgical products, oil, gas and oil products are the main source of income for the economy. 

Agriculture 

Agriculture is an important sector in the country’s economy. Spring crops, oats, barley and other cultures are grown in the North of the Republic. Kazakhstan also ranks third in the CIS after Russia and Ukraine concerning wheat production. Climatic conditions enable vegetable production, melons and gourds to be grown as well as the cultivation of other crops such as sunflowers, flax, tobacco and others. In the south of the country, cotton, sugar beet and rice are grown with orchards and vineyards also being popular in the region. Cattle breeding is one of the priorities of Kazakhstan’s agricultural sector. The Republic is traditionally involved in sheep, horse, camel and cattle breeding. The desert and semi-desert areas in Central and South-Western Kazakhstan are widely used as seasonal pastures for livestock. The mountain meadows in the East and South East of the Republic are used as summer pastures. 

Transport 

The geographic layout of Kazakhstan is located in the heart of the Eurasian continent and provides the necessary conditions for transit transport. The length of the surface transport routes in the Republic is 106 thousand kilometers, 13.5 thousand of which are railways, 87.4 thousand kilometres are public roads with metalled surfaces and 4 thousand kilometres are river routes. The construction of the border railway route from Druzhba to Alashankou linking Kazakhstan and China and the launch of the Serhas-Meshhed railway line between Turkmenistan and China opened up new transit corridors passing along the former Great Silk Way, which began at the Pacific Ocean ports of China such as Lianyungang, Qingdao, Tianjin and ran through Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Iran and Turkey through to the ports located on the Mediterranean Sea and the Persian Gulf. The motorways in the country link the republic with Russia and other former Soviet republics as well as China, Turkey and Iran, which enables access to the ports of the Black and Mediterranean Seas and the Indian Ocean. Kazakhstan also has navigable waters in the Caspian Sea (via Aktau Port) through which it may access the Black and the Baltic Seas through the rivers in Russia. 

International trade 

At the moment, the export potential of Kazakhstan has a clear raw material dependence and is formed due to the fuel, metallurgical and chemical industries. The major share of Kazakhstan’s exports is occupied by oil and oil products (35%), non-ferrous metals (17%), ferrous metals (16%), ores (12%) with crops also taking a share of the exported goods (9%). The main items imported by Kazakhstan are vehicles and equipment, transport, automatic equipment, chemical products, fuel, mineral fuel, food, ready-to-use products and consumer goods. The state of Kazakhstan’s export-import balance of trade changes every year relating to the diversification of business relations. However, the share of commercial relations with traditional partners such as the CIS and Baltic states is still large as it takes around 59% of exports and up to 63% of imports. Russia remains the main trade partner for Kazakhstan. The Republic is also successfully developing relations with Germany, Turkey, Switzerland, The Czech Republic, Italy, China, The USA. Great Britain, South Korea and others. 

National currency


As well as the national anthem, flag and emblem, the national currency is also on the list of state symbols. In the early 1990s, when the Soviet Union collapsed, the Soviet Ruble suffered rapid devaluation. In 1992, inflation hit 250%. In July 1993, Russia introduced its own currency having notified Kazakhstan just three days before its introduction. As a result, a huge flow of old Soviet money streamed into the Republic. An appeal made by the head of state on television and radio shortly before the launch of monetary reforms managed to calm down the people of Kazakhstan. The mass exchange of Soviet currency into the Tenge began at 8am on November the 15th, 1993 and finished at 8pm on November the 20th, 1993. Ever since then, on November the 15th, Kazakhstan celebrates finance day and national currency day. In order to provide the country with its own banknotes, it was decided to establish a mint. Kazakhstan’s mint is among the world top 6 mints. As the national currency, the Tenge plays a significant role in the Republic’s history. It was the introduction of the national currency that helped the country to carry out its own monetary policy. The introduction of the tenge provided a boost to structural changes aimed at the establishment of a market economy. Kazakhstan built its own banking system from virtually nothing which was a considerable achievement as the Republic had never previously had any banking traditions. This sector is a reformed and dynamic part of the economy and Kazakhstan’s banking segment is seen as competitive within the former Soviet Republics and exports its products.
© АО «НК «СПК «Тараз» - 2017 Legal and contact information Advertising
No reproduction of the materials may take place without the written permission of the copyright holder. All the rights for the pictures and texts reserved.
Stay in touch

Рус Каз Eng

Жамбылская область

Тараз
 

Экономика Казахстана

В начале 90-х годов с распадом СССР в Казахстане началось создание рыночной экономики. Предприятия, месторождения и часть инфраструктурных объектов были переданы в частную собственность. В 1993 году страна отказывается от советского рубля и вводит собственную валюту - тенге. Казахстан фактически с нуля построил эффективную банковскую систему - и это при том, что в республике фактически не было традиций банковского дела. Данный сектор является реформированным и динамично развивающимся. Цветная и чёрная металлургия, химическая, машиностроение, лёгкая, пищевая промышленность и нефтепереработка являются ведущими отраслями экономики Казахстана. В республике разведаны большие запасы цветных и чёрных металлов, каменных и бурых углей, нефти и газ, фосфоритов, поваренной соли и асбеста. 

Природные ресурсы 

Главное богатство недр Казахстана - цветные и чёрные металлы: медь, цинк, свинец, никель, вольфрам, молибден, железные и марганцевые руды, хромиты. В республике много также каменных и бурых углей, нефти и газа, фосфоритов, поваренной соли и асбеста. В общей сложности недра Казахстана хранят более 90 видов полезных ископаемых. В периодической таблице почти не осталось элементов, которые не были бы найдены в республике. С экологической точки зрения очень важной особенностью этих ископаемых является то, что они часто залегают близко к поверхности земли и поэтому разрабатываются дешёвым открытым способом в карьерах. Большим разнообразием ископаемых ресурсов отличаются Рудный Алтай, горы Каратау, Мугоджары, Тургайская долина и полуостров Мангистау. Доказанные газовые запасы Казахстана на начало 2009 года составляют 1,82 трлн м³ (по оценке BP), что составляет 1,7% от мировых запасов. Республика занимает 2-е место в мире по разведанным запасам урановых месторождений Казахстана и составляют 1,69 млн тонн. 

Промышленность 

Цветная и чёрная металлургия, химическая, машиностроение, лёгкая, пищевая являются ведущими отраслями промышленности Казахстана. Развиты также нефтепереработка и производство стройматериалов. Активно добываются уголь, нефть, природный газ, железные руды, медные руды, свинцово-цинковые руды, урановая руда, никелевые руды, бокситы и другие полезные ископаемые. Основным источником доходов бюджета страны является экспорт металлургической продукции, нефти, газа и нефтепродуктов. 

Сельское хозяйство 

Сельское хозяйство является важным сектором экономики страны. На севере Казахстана выращивают яровую пшеницу, овес, ячмень и другие культуры. По производству зерна Казахстан занимает третье место в СНГ после России и Украины. Климатические условия позволяют развивать овощеводство, бахчеводство и возделывать ряд технических культур - подсолнечника, льна-кудряша, табака и др. На юге республики дают высокие урожаи хлопчатник, сахарная свекла, рис, плодоносят сады и виноградники. Животноводство один из приоритетов агропромышленного комплекса Казахстана. В республике традиционно занимаются овцеводством, коневодством, верблюдоводством, разведением крупного рогатого скота. Пустынные и полупустынные территории в центральной и юго-западной частях Казахстана широко используются как сезонные пастбища для скота. В качестве летних пастбищ используются горные луга на востоке и юго-востоке республики. 

Транспорт 

Географическое расположение Казахстана в центре Евроазиатского континента предопределяет его значительный транспортный потенциал в области транзитных перевозок. Протяженность наземных транспортных магистралей республики составляет 106 тыс. км. Из них 13,5 тыс. км - магистральные железные дороги, 87,4 тыс. км - автомобильные магистрали общего пользования с твердым покрытием, 4 тыс. км. - речные пути. Строительство пограничного железнодорожного перехода Дружба - Алашанькоу между Казахстаном и Китаем и открытие железнодорожного перехода Серахс - Мешхед между Туркменистаном и Ираном открыли новые транзитные коридоры по маршруту Великого шелкового пути: от тихоокеанских портов Китая - Ляньюньган, Циньдао, Тяньцзин - в Казахстан, Кыргызстан, Узбекистан, Туркменистан, Иран, Турцию, к портам Средиземноморья и Персидского залива. Имеющаяся сеть автодорог дает выход на Россию и бывшие союзные республики, а также в Китай, Турцию и Иран, что обеспечивает выход к портам Черного и Средиземного морей и Индийского океана. Морское судоходство осуществляется на Каспийском море (порт Актау) с выходом через речные пути России на Черное и Балтийское море. 

Внешняя торговля 

В настоящее время экспортный потенциал Казахстана имеет ярко выраженную сырьевую направленность и формируется за счет топливного, металлургического, химического комплекса. В структуре казахстанского экспорта основную долю занимают нефть и нефтепродукты (35%), другими важными товарными группами являются цветные металлы (17%), черные металлы (16%), руды (12%), определенная часть экспорта приходится на зерновые культуры (9%). Основной импортируемой продукцией являются машины и оборудование, средства транспорта, приборы и автоматы, химическая продукция, топливо минеральное, продовольственные товары, готовые изделия и товары народного потребления. Структура казахстанского экспорта-импорта из года в год претерпевает изменение в сторону диверсификации деловых связей. Однако доля торговли с традиционными партнерами - странами СНГ и Балтии - все еще велика: на них приходится около 59% экспорта и до 63 % импорта. При этом основным торговым партнером остается Россия. Из государств дальнего зарубежья успешно развиваются торговые связи с Германией, Турцией, Швейцарией, Чехией, Италией, Китаем, США, Великобританией, Южной Кореей и др. 

Денежная единица 

Так же, как гимн, флаг и герб, национальная валюта относится к числу государственных символов. В начале 90-х годов с распадом СССР началось обесценивание советского рубля. Уровень инфляции в 1992 году составлял 250 процентов! В июле 1993 года Россия ввела собственную национальную валюту, известив Казахстан за три дня до этого события. В республику хлынул поток советских купюр старого образца. Выступление главы государства по телевидению и радио накануне начала денежной реформы с ее разъяснением успокоило казахстанцев. Обмен советской валюты на тенге начался в 8 часов утра 15 ноября и завершился в 20 часов 20 ноября 1993 года. С 1993 года 15 ноября казахстанцы отмечают день финансиста или день рождения тенге. Для того чтобы страна могла сама обеспечивать себя бумажными деньгами, было решено создать банкнотную фабрику. Кстати, казахстанский монетный двор входит в 6 лучших монетных дворов мира. Тенге как национальная валюта, играет важную роль в истории республики. Именно введение собственной валюты позволило стране проводить самостоятельную денежно-кредитную политику. С введением тенге были ускорены структурные преобразования, направленные на построение рыночной экономики. Казахстан фактически с нуля построил эффективную банковскую систему - и это при том, что в республике фактически не было традиций банковского дела. Данный сектор является реформированным и динамично развивающимся, а банковские технологии считаются на постсоветском пространстве востребованной, конкурентоспособной, экспортной продукцией. 
Использование материалов разрешено только с предварительного согласия правообладателей. Все права на картинки и тексты принадлежат их авторам.
Будьте на связи